Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

I have owned my 1965 Tiger for about 20 years, but have enjoyed it only as a toy, and have made no serious attempts to restore it, except for a few cosmetics. Last year I only had it out a few times, and since late last summer, haven’t used it at all. Because of this neglect, the car is now in need of some serious maintenance and TLC. This is totally my own fault, but I would now like to get it running again; however, I am not a mechanic, and most of the discussion links I’ve seen on this website are (at least in my opinion) useful only to owners who know a great deal more than I about cars in general, and specifically, the Tiger.

My major issue right now is the clutch – the master cylinder reservoir went dry over the winter, and now the clutch doesn’t function. I’ve added fresh DOT 4 fluid to it, and tried to bleed the system by pulling a vacuum on the bleeder valve (which I’ve loosened significantly), without success (gauge acts as if the system is blocked) – pumping the clutch pedal has no effect on this. I bought speed bleeders (brakes and clutch) advertised for the Tiger on eBay, but have not as yet installed them. I’m leery of removing and/or disassembling either the master or slave without getting some advice first – as a real novice, I’m worried this could be a bad choice on my part.

Bottom line, I would like to chat with someone about this issue, and other general questions too numerous to mention. I can do it via email/forum, but would also welcome the opportunity to have a telephone conversation or (better yet) a visit from a local Tiger owner – some things are just better handled by direct communication….