Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author

First off, I want to say high as I am a newbie here.
      I used the search portion and did not find anything that matched what I am asking. I have also tried other forums and received little information regarding my question. Soooooooo, my block question is this.
      What, if any, modifications or issues will I run into by changing from the stock 5 bolt block and bellhousing, to a 6 bolt block and bell housing. I am mostly concerned with outside physical dimentions as I do not wish to cut my Tiger. Bolt on mods are all over this thing, but they can be easily removed if desired. As my car stands it is a 1966 Mk1A running a 1965
      HI-PO 289 with some aftermarket mods. Thanks for the help and have a great day.

Hello,

you must not cut anything on your tiger!
      You need another bracket for the clutch slave-cylinder.
      You must trill new holes in the bellhousing to fit your gearbox (if you have the narrowrange MK1 box) and you need a ring to fix the gearbox in the middle of the bellhousing (easy to make).
      Take your old frontcover and everything is fine.
      If you use a fordmotorsport balancer you must look if he does not drag at the frontcover, in my case I could modify the frontcover to make space for the balancer.

regards
      Hans

Thanks Hans,
      Would you happen to have any part numbers, or vehicles used to donate parts, for things like the clutch fork?
      I notice your name says Tiger331, does this indicate that you have a 331 stroker in your Tiger? If so, please elaborate on that set up as this is the motor I am thinking of installing in place of the 289.

Yes, I have a 331 Stroker in my Tiger ๐Ÿ™‚

I took a 5.0 HO Rollerblock.

You need one of the following bellhousings :
      C5DA-6394-A
      D20A-6394-AA
      D5DA-6394-AB

To fix you gearbox you must put a ring with outside 4 7/8″ and inside
      4 11/16″ to get the gearbox in the centre.